Gold Awards 2018 Ceremony winners

Lawyers from Google, PepsiCo, HP and Volkswagen were among the winners at the 2018 Iberian Lawyer Gold Awards.


If you want to download the Ceremony report please click HERE.

See also pictures of the Ceremony HERE


Legal and compliance teams from Banco Santander, Seat Group and Banco Sabadell were also recognised at the ceremony, which was held this evening in Madrid.

Meanwhile, the ‘Lawyer of the Year’ Award was won by BBVA general counsel Eduardo Arbizu.

The Gold Awards recognise excellence among legal and compliance professionals working for Spanish and Portuguese businesses at home and abroad or working for the Iberian arms of international companies.

The Google legal team led by Spain and Portugal head of legal María González Ordóñez won the ‘Legal Team of the Year Spain’ award, while Pepsi Co’s team – led by south west Europe senior counsel Carmen Neira – won the ‘Competition Regulatory Team Iberia’ prize. Meanwhile, the ‘Portugal Legal Team of the Year’ award was won by the Volkswagen Financial Services team led by head of legal & compliance Patricia Mendes.

A Banco Santander team led by Julia Bayón won the ‘Financing Team – Iberia’ award, while the ‘Compliance Team Spain’ prize was given to the Seat Group team led by chief compliance & integrity officer Sandra Olivera Cervantes. The ‘International Team – Focus Latin America’ award was won by a Banco Sabadell team led by head of commercial legal affairs Luis Alberto Cárdenas Díaz. Around 200 guests attended the ceremony.

Media Coverage

BBVA:  “Eduardo Arbizu, galardonado como ‘abogado del año’ por Iberian Lawyer”  To read more please click here 

Expansion: “Las ‘estrellas’ de la asesorías jurídicas de las empresas” To read more please click here

LEGALTODAY: Los IV premios ‘Gold Awards’ de Iberian Lawyer se entregan el 24 de octubre” To read more please click here

PME Investimentos: “A equipa jurídica da PME Investimentos nomeada finalista dos Gold Awards 2018 promovidos pela Iberian Lawyer” To read more please click here

More information about the event and Jury members please click HERE  

GoldAwards logos 18 FINAL


Mari Cruz Taboada