EU Parliament Committee on Legal Affairs elects Adrián Vázquez as new chair

The members of the EU Parliament Committee on Legal Affairs have elected Adrian Vázquez Lázara, chairman, by acclamation, following the departure of former British MEP and chair of this Committee until Brexit, Lucy Nethsingha

In addition to chairing the Committee and coordinators meetings, Adrián Vázquez Lázara (pictured) will represent the JURI committee both inside and outside the European Parliament and chair the legislative negotiations led by the Committee. He has authority over voting procedures and rules on the admissibility of amendments.

Like the Bureau of the European Parliament (composed of the Chairmen, Vice-Chairmen and Quaestors), and taking into account the different circumstances represented by the work of the committee, their Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen are responsible for the smooth running of their respective committees. The position lasts half of the legislature, i.e. two and a half years.

Desire Vidal